Dr. Walter Gilbert

Dr. Walter (Wally) Gilbert is a renowned scientist who was awarded the 1980 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his discovery of a method for rapid DNA sequencing.  His forty year academic career at Harvard University was marked by many discoveries, including messenger RNA, genetic repressors, DNA sequencing, and the first expression of insulin in bacteria.

Dr. Gilbert is the Carl M. Loeb University Professor Emeritus at Harvard University.  He is currently a managing director at BioVentures Investors, a venture capital fund in Wellesley, MA. In 1978 Dr. Gilbert co-founded Biogen, the world’s oldest independent biotechnology company.  He served as Chair of the Scientific Board of Directors from 1978 to 1983, and Co-Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Directors from 1979 to 1981. He became Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board and served from 1981 to 1985.  As CEO, Dr. Gilbert oversaw Biogen's Initial Public Offering in 1983 and played a key role in the development of several key products, including alpha interferon, beta interferon, and hepatitis B vaccine.  In 1992, Dr. Gilbert co-founded Myriad Genetics and continues to serve as its Vice-Chairman.  In 1996, Dr. Gilbert co-founded Paratek Pharmaceuticals and served as its Chairman until 2014.



Dr. Stuart Levy

Stuart B. Levy, M.D. (1938-2019) co-founded Paratek Pharmaceuticals with Dr. Walter Gilbert. Before his passing in 2019, Dr. Levy served as the Director of the Center for Adaptation Genetics and Drug Resistance and a Distinguished Professor of Molecular Biology and Microbiology, Medicine, and Public Health and Community Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine where he was also a Staff Physician at the Tufts Medical Center. During his illustrious career, he co-founded the Alliance for the Prudent Use of Antibiotics (APUA), an international non-profit organization with 65 chapters around the world and members in over 100 countries. He was also a past President of the American Society for Microbiology (ASM). a Fellow of the American College of Physicians, the Infectious Disease Society of America, the American Academy of Microbiology and the Association for the Advancement of Science, and Chairperson of the 1983-1986 Fogarty Center study of "Antibiotic use and resistance worldwide.”

Dr. Levy published more than 250 papers, as well as four edited books and two special journal editions about antibiotic use and resistance. His 1992 book, The Antibiotic Paradox: How Miracle Drugs Are Destroying the Miracle, has been cited widely and translated into four languages. Dr. Levy received honorary degrees in biology from Wesleyan University and from Des Moines University. In 2005, colleagues honored him with the ASM book: Frontiers in Antibiotic Resistance: a Tribute to Stuart B. Levy. He was awarded ASM’s 1995 Hoechst-Roussel Award for esteemed research in antimicrobial chemotherapy, the 2011 Hamao Umezawa Memorial Award by the International Society of Chemotherapy and the 2012 Abbott- ASM Lifetime Achievement Award.


Find out more about the other members of the Paratek family, including the Executive Team, Management Team, and Board of Directors.